Posted by: carissabeth | December 8, 2009

Another Reason to Go Green!

As in TEA!!!

Green Tea how much do I love thee? Let me count your benefits. The antioxidants in green tea have been linked to cancer prevention, decreased risk of stroke, heart diseases, and lowered blood cholesterol. It has also been known to alleviate headaches and depression. Why would this coffee loving gal be so obsessed with the mighty leaf you ask? As the weather in NJ  is getting colder, green tea is a great alternative for my morning brew. I can get the caffeine I need for the morning  without feeling bloated and full. 

  Upon reading about the benefits of green tea I learned that green tea comes from the Camellia Sinensis plant. This plant yields the 4 staple teas- black, green, oolong, and white. Green tea leaves undergo the least amount of fermentation and maintain their natural green color. With very little fermentation, this enables green tea to retain its health-promoting properties that it would otherwise lose. I have been reading about the benefits of green tea, because Shaklee has great tasting Cinch Tea that I love to drink in the middle of the day. I love to drink them cold, mixed into my reusable water bottle while I’m at the gym or driving around doing my usual errands. I have been experimenting with different tea combinations and brands.  The Shaklee Cinch Teas are great tasting, convenient powder form to mix into any clear beverage hot or cold, but they don’t require brewing.

For traditional brewed tea I really like a few brands. Wegman’s Earl Grey Green is really good. It combines Green Tea leaf and the Oil of Bergamot and tastes great with just a touch of skim milk. Mighty Leaf  green  is my favorite luxury tea that I treat myself  to whenever I have lunch with the ladies at the Nordstrom Cafe.

For a free sample of Shaklee’s Cinch Green Tea, contact me by subscribing to this blog; which is free of course. Provide me with your email address and I will contact you about receiving your free sample. Make sure you mention this offer by writing “Cinch” in your message.

Leave a Reply

Categories

